Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

AE700 questions

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Argentofan, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. Argentofan

    Argentofan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    I've currently using a AE500, but suspect, due to the image flickering, the bulb will shortly be going pop.

    I'm considering putting the price of the bulb towards upgrading to the AE700, but have a few question, which I hope somebody might be able to help me with.

    I've had quite a lot of problems with the AE500 with dust blobs... is this less of an issue with the AE700?

    Is the black/contrast greatly improved?

    My AE500 is wall mounted - are the screws on the bottom of the AE700 in the same places as the AE500?

    Thanks folks!
     
  2. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +17
    I cant compare with the AE500, but...

    I have not had any dust issues with my AE700, it has been left on its stand and rolled into position when used (currently has 160hours).

    The screws are in the same place according to other people who have upgraded.

    The black level in the AE700 is good for me, if the room is darkish then the picture looks great. As I have said though I dont have anything serious to compare it to other than a few business projectors Ive played with.
     
  3. Argentofan

    Argentofan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Thanks for replying. That's good news about the screws - I won't have to buy a new stand :thumbsup:
     
  4. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    9,043
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    I Had a 500 then a 700 and there is a definite step up in quality.

    Holes are in the same place but because of the design of the 700 being different to the 500 you will have to use the lens shift and this detracts from the pq :(

    Adrenochrome.
     
  5. Argentofan

    Argentofan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Thanks for the info - Have you had any dust blob problems on either projector? And, are the blacks clearly darker?
     
  6. Spooksta

    Spooksta
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2000
    Messages:
    3,265
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ratings:
    +686
    Why do you have to use lens shift. Could you not change the position of the mount to reduce this?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice