1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE700 or Z3

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by daddyorchips, Jun 10, 2005.

1. daddyorchips

daddyorchips

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    Hi,

Age old question this I'm sure. I'm new to the world of HDTV - was going to upgrade my CRT to a HD LCD up until recently, but then I discovered there were top quality projectors out there for the same price if not cheaper! The two in the title have caught my eye, as I'm looking at spending circa £900-£1k.

My main uses for the projector will be PC gaming, console gaming and DVDs. Both those projectors look pretty even, but I was hoping you guys could recount your experiences with them. The Panasonic sounds like the dogs, with higher contrast and anti-screendoor mechanism. However, it sounds like it may have a real problem with vertical banding?? Are these some sort of vertical thick bands of shade/colour that overlay the picture? If so, how bad is this effect? I've come across mention of a firmware upgrade - was this to eliminate VB?

The Z3 lacks an RGB Scart interface, which is a minus point IMO as that's currently how I hook up my GC and PS2. Xbox I've got all the component leads for, which suits either projector. The dust cleansing feature sounds really appealing for the Z3, but being new to projectors I'm not quite clued up on that. Do they tend to gather much dust, and does it accumulate under the lense? Is that something I'd be able to clean up easily myself manually?

Last thing, there's the case of warranty. The fact Sanyo provide 3 yrs as standard is a great perk. A quick shop around and it seems I'm can get the Z3 for around £990 with the warranty and del. inc. The AE700 will cost me an extra £200 on top of that for 3 yr's warranty, though that deal includes a free screen too.