AE700 new firmware request to Panasonic

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by CooperUK, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    Having read about the new 1.07 firmware for the AE700 that is being flashed in projectors in the US and Canada to remove vertical banding I have contacted Panasonic UK and asked for them to upgrade or replace my projector.

    Mine has recently developed vertical banding, having had none at all at first.

    I'll keep you informed about my progress.
     
  2. spotthedog

    spotthedog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Coop,

    Have you written to or phoned Panasonic? I've received a new 700 today as a replacement for one that had terrible VB. I would like 1.07 to adress both VB and white flash but suspect that users in the EU will be some way behind the States and Canada. Can't wait until this evening to try the new one.

    Keep us informed.

    Spot
     
  3. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,031
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lockerbie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +943
    If you could update this thread as and when Panasonic contact you then I am sure that many AE700 owners on here would appreciate it.

    It would also be handy to know from Panasonic if the upgrade can be done at authorised dealers or if we have to ship our units to Panasonic themselves.

    Regards
    Keith Hurst
     
  4. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    This is what Panasonic had to say about it...


    "Thank you for your further email.

    I am sorry to learn of the circumstances, which have prompted you to write, and can appreciate your concern.

    In response, I would explain that Panasonic is not able to accede to your request for an exchange product. Your contract of sale lies with your retailer, not with the manufacturer directly. Therefore any such decision would be for your original selling retailer to make.

    However, I would also stress that there is not an inherent defect with this model and there is therefore no reason why the problem that you are experiencing cannot be remedied by a qualified engineer.

    I would recommend that you provide the authorised service agent covering your area the opportunity to carry out an investigation, as stated in our previous correspondence.

    If they then experience any difficulties, they can contact our own dedicated technical support department for assistance.

    I am sorry that I cannot fully accommodate you in your enquiry but trust that the above information will be of assistance to you.

    Regards,
    Jill Farrar
    Customer Support"

    Doesn't look too hopeful at the moment, but I have fired off another email asking them about the new firmware and why it was issued in newly shipped projectors if there are no inherent faults.

    Also, I have asked them why their local engineer, as recommended by their website, doesn't deal with projectors!

    I'm not a happy chap so far - I think that the UK, as per usual, will get fobbed off.

    :mad:
     
  5. benji_m

    benji_m
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Panasonic are in the process of signing up dealers to service projectors. As is stands no dealer in the UK is able to touch a PJ.

    I'm not sure your expectations of this new firmware are realistic, are you saying it cures VB completely?
     
  6. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    On the avsforum in the US people are saying that VB all but disappears for many and disappears for some entirely.

    I think Panny at least owe us the option of trying it out - it's not as if they give us the option of flash upgrading the firmware ourselves!

    Customer service is something they should provide IMHO!

    I'm v. happy with all other aspects of this PJ, but having developed VB recently, and seeing as in the US there is an option to have it sorted out, even if only partially, than why can't the UK have the same treatment?

    If there is not a flaw in the firmware (version 1.03 - which I have) why release new firmware at all?

    New firmware means correcting errors/improving performance. I don't see whymy four month old UK PJ should not have the same, under warranty, rights as a four month old US PJ.

    :lesson:
     
  7. benji_m

    benji_m
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Agreed,

    They don't even think the dealers are up to the job!

    I have to say I have not seen any really bad VB on any of our 700's, but they are never over an hour or so old.
     
  8. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    Mine didn't develop any notiveable VB until about 35-40 hours usage.

    The VB I have isn't incredibly bad, but if there is a possible solution then UK owners need to be given the right of access to it too, not just for the US/Canada.

    If you hear of anything, keep us updated!

    I'll let you know Panny's response to my request that they firmly state that VB is acceptable within their LCD projectors!

    That'll make nice reading in their next promo brochure :devil:
     
  9. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    9,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +211
    Coop can you tell me how you find out the firmware version please?

    Adrenochrome.
     
  10. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    New and updated information from Panny - looks like I may have got them to accede to my request for a firmware update after all.


    "Thank you for your further email enquiry.

    In response, we have not stated that the banding is acceptable or does not constitute a fault. We have only suggested that the unit will need to be examined, normally by a local service agent. If your local service agent is unable to assist you, please provide the following information and we can arrange to uplift your unit for examination. However, units over twelve months old will be subject to an inspection/collection fee of £64.63 including VAT unless covered under warranty:

    Model number
    Serial number
    Date of purchase
    Your address details
    Contact telephone number

    I trust that this information has been of assistance to you.

    Regards,
    Jill Farrar
    Customer Support"


    Adrenochrome - you can find out the firmware version by going into the 'hidden' menu via options -> OSD (hold until it changes) -> self-test (I think that's how it's done - I usually don't even think whilst doing so - it's automatic :D )

    This should give you some info, in green, on your screen. The firmware is one of the three numbers at the top. Mine all say 1.03 I think, so I guess mine is firmware 1.03!
     
  11. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    9,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +211
    Thanks Coop :thumbsup:
     
  12. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Will also check mine out. :thumbsup:
     
  13. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    9,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +211
    Mine says

    R1.05 A1.03 P1.05
     
  14. Tempest

    Tempest
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +4,538
    Dare I be as brave to ask, when we may be able to buy off the shelf UK AE700's with the latest 1.07 firmware from the factory?

    A few months for then to filter thru perhaps?
     
  15. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Mines

    R1.03 A1.03 P1.04
     
  16. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +18
    ill check mine tomorrow (later today i suppose...)!


    What do the two hour columns mean? There is one on the left that appears to be total usage. Then 2 rows beneath that all say 00H00. Its just the top right hand time that makes no sense to me. It adds up to about half of my usage but I have not changed any setting half way through using it......
     
  17. OneEyedStuart

    OneEyedStuart
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    5,031
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lockerbie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +943
    Mines,

    R1.03 A1.03 P1.04

    KH
     
  18. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Mine was brought on the 3/11/04

    Can anyone explain what each of these means? :confused:
     
  19. spotthedog

    spotthedog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe that it is the first number that is the firmware revision that we are interested in. So it is good news that Adrenochrome has 1.05 as this indicates that some updated units are starting to filter through. I received a repalcement yesterday for a faulty unit and it has 1.03. I'm pretty hacked off about this, I specifically want the HDMI white flash issue dealt with. 1.05 and 1.07 are supposed to sort this out.

    Spotthedog
     
  20. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    9,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +211
    Hi Spot can you tell me if the serial number on the outside of your box is intact?

    Adrenochrome.
     
  21. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    So i take it mines firmware 1.03. :thumbsdow
    I do get bad VB watching channels on sky now. :(
     
  22. Aquila

    Aquila
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Bruges - Belgium
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also very interested to learn if a firmware upgrade can eliminate the white flash on HDMI. I don't have a lot of VB, only very slightly on very bright and blueish scenes. But if this firmware takes care of it entirely, that would be great :)
    I've just sent a mail to a Panasonic service center here in Belgium asking for a firmware upgrade...
     
  23. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
    Cooperuk, could you supply the email address you are emailing to please? :thumbsup:
     
  24. spotthedog

    spotthedog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  25. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    Sure - the person from Panny I'm dealing with is

    [email protected]

    She's gonna love me!
     
  26. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    Interestingly enough, if Benji_M is right and there are no engineers to do the job - might, in an ideal world, we all get brand spanking new 1.07 firmware PJs?

    One can dream!

    BTW - sent off my details to Jill Farrar today - now I'll wait and see what happens.

    Just hope they can turn the job around quickly.
     
  27. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    Update:

    Panasonic are now arranging with me to collect my projector so that it can be taken away for examination and new firmware.

    It pays not to give in - get those emails to Jill Farrar ASAP and lets get Panasonic going with sorting out these projectors!
     
  28. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    9,052
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +211
    To be honest with you i have nothing but praise for Panasonic (once you start speaking to their customer services dept)

    I have always found them to be prompt,polite and going the extra mile to make sure you are left entirely satisfied.

    Hell i even had an email sent on a Sunday afternoon from the head of customer services :clap: Now i don't think there are many huge companies that would offer that level of personal service.

    Adrenochrome.
     
  29. CooperUK

    CooperUK
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,240
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +318
    Well, hoorah for Panny - they are collecting my PJ on Monday.

    Well done to Jill Farrah

    Nice to see that, after a little prompting, they are going to help me out.

    :clap:
     
  30. spotthedog

    spotthedog
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I've got the correct number my serial number is SE4520170. I'd be interested to know anyone's S/N who has 1.05 or better firmware. I've emailed panasonic so hopefully will get a date for a firmware upgrade. Coop any idea where your PJ is going to for its change.

    Spot
     

Share This Page

Loading...