1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE500 Quick Question

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by berserkgoose, Mar 1, 2004.

  1. berserkgoose

    berserkgoose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Baildon UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi,
    I just ordered a Yamakawa 365 DVD Player to go with my AE500. Can anyone tell me which type of DVI Cable I need to connect the two? There looks to be two different male DVI connections, DVI-I and DVI-D. Can anyone explain the difference?:confused:

    Also has anyone used an AE500 with the Yamakawa 365- Any impressions?

    Any help appreciated

    Cheers
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    DVI-I carries digital and analogue signals, DVI-D only carries digital. DVI-D is the one you want....
     
  3. KrisBennett

    KrisBennett
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I am using a DVI-D cable with my AE500 and my Yamakawa 365 and DVDs look fantastic at 720p!


    Kris..........
     
  4. berserkgoose

    berserkgoose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Baildon UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks for your replies.

    Kris, can you clear something up for me? I realise with the latest firmware
    the Yamakawa can output 720p@50Hz for PAL discs. Is the AE500 able to accept
    this signal through DVI with no problems?

    Reason I ask is, this seems impossible with a PC thru VGA....720p 60Hz is
    fine but when you try to go down to 50Hz or thereabouts the AE500 won't
    sync...
     
  5. KrisBennett

    KrisBennett
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got in from work and tried the PAL version of swordfish at 720p@50 via DVI and there were no problems at all.........90% of my DVDs are region 1, so it was actually the first time I have tried a region 2 disk and the first time I tried 720 @ 50hz.........

    I've had the pj and the yamakawa just over two weeks and I would thoroughly recommend both to anybody........

    cheers

    Kris
     
  6. berserkgoose

    berserkgoose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Baildon UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    Thanks Kris, that's good to know.
    My collection is also mostly made up of R1 discs but it's a real bonus being able to use 720p 50Hz - not a lot of players seem to have this feature.

    Looking forward to getting my new toy!

    Cheers
     
  7. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    how much did it cost all in

    Thanks :)
     
  8. berserkgoose

    berserkgoose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Baildon UK
    Ratings:
    +45
    The DVD player cost £110 incl. shipping from Germany (off ebay)
    I think it's a few weeks wait for delivery though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...