1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE500 powerstrip settings??

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by (GTV)Chris, Jan 30, 2004.

  1. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    703
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    Anyone have a goo suggestion for a good powerstrip setting for the AE500?
    Any help very much welcome :)

    Cheers

    Chris
     
  2. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    703
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    ok, right ... I have settled on the following...
    If anyone knows any different pls let us all know :)

    1280x720 (thanks to kenc3dan_av)

    Pixel clock 74.250MHz
    Horizontal scan rate 45.055kHz
    Vertical Refresh 60.073Hz

    [Horizontal timing]
    Active 1280
    Front Porch 110
    Sync width 40
    Back porch 218
    Total 1648

    [Vertical Timing]
    Active 720
    Front porch 5
    Sync Width 5
    Back porch 20
    Total 750
     
  3. (GTV)Chris

    (GTV)Chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    703
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +3
    ok...tried these settings and my desktop is all over to one side...
    Need to try again..I'll keep you informed..
     
  4. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know of the AE500 powerstrip settings that work best?

    thanks
     
  5. Adrenochrome

    Adrenochrome
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    8,762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Babel Sensurround
    Ratings:
    +207
    I Am currently using the following

    Pixel clock 74.556
    scan rate 45.022
    refresh rate 60.190

    HORIZONTAL TIMING

    Active 1280
    Front porch 72
    Sync width 56
    Back porch 248
    Total 1656

    VERTICAL TIMING

    Active 720
    Front porch 3
    Sync width 6
    Back porch 19
    Total 748

    Give these a try and let me know how you get on.

    Adrenochrome.
     
  6. am1001aa

    am1001aa
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Thanks for the settings - I tried them and the picture looked excellent. Particularily the windows desktop - nice and sharp and no blurry lines.

    One little problem when watching dvds (I use Powerdvd) - there's a 1-2 inch left border to the image which can be a bit distracting - do you see the same?

    My video card is a Crucial ATi Radeon 9700 Pro.

    When I put in the numbers (vertical then horizontal) you suggested I got:

    Pixel clock: 74.332
    Scan rate : 44.80
    refresh rate : 60:00

    rest are same as you.

    What should be the optimum settings for pixel clock, scan rate and refresh rate? Should I adjust them to try to get closer to yours? (Now the resolution is accepted I can adjust refresh rate to a higher accuracy (before all I could do was eg select 60 (not 60.015 etc).

    Many thanks

    Alistair
     

Share This Page

Loading...