Quantcast

AE500 or HS20 ?

o0OBoBO0o

I'm a bit new to this and have been lurking for along time, I have narrowed my choice down to 2 projectors, the AE500 from krishav or the HS20 from discounttv, I will hopefully be watching DVD via a DVI enabled player or go the HTPC route.

I guess the big question is, "is the HS20 worth £300 more than the AE500" i'm already pushing my budget at £1200 for the AE500 but would happily pay another £300 for the HS20 if its worth it.

I'm in this for the long haul and am looking to the future when HD DVD and WM9 media are more available.

Can anyone help ?

Thanks

BoBBoB

clancol

YES YES And another resound YES .
I don't think anyone in their right mind would pick the ae500 over the hs20 when their is just £300 difference. Unless the ae500 is the absolute max that they can afford.

If you can afford the extra £300 then go for it. The hs20 is in a different leage. Plus the hs20 has HDMI for the future.

I have the hs10 (the previous model to the hs20) and it is my opinion and many others on this forum, That the hs10 beats the ae500 and z2 hand down so the hs20 is a sure thing.
Hope you enjoy your new projecter whatever you get.

It's always a buzz showing Freinds and family that you have a 6ft screen, and that you paid much less, than a #### Plasma

S

spacekdet69

hi
will let you know, am waiting on my hs20 which i have purchased blind. should be here tomorrow but have no screen as yet, i did see the ae500 connected via hdmi-dvi and also component..... big difference in pq.
best wishes
nick.

Tempest

Distinguished Member
I would love a HS20.
But the thing that ruins it for me is it's LONG Throw.

I wonder why they don't make a short throw version. After all it's easy to put a projector CLOSER to the screen, but impossible to put it FURTHER AWAY than your back wall.

S

spacekdet69

hi
think they do a short throw lense for the hs20... although though this would be an additional cost...
best wishes
nick.

S

spacekdet69