1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE500 Green blob removal, but which ribbon is the green one?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Argentofan, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. Argentofan

    Argentofan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Got a nasty green blob on my AE500, which I assume is a dust blob.

    I understand that its most likely going to be the green ribbon which needs blasting, but which one is it? Tried blasting all three, and it seems not to have worked...
     
  2. RTFM

    RTFM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +17
    If the dust blob is on the green lcd panel or green polarising filter are you sure it would be projecting a green blob ? :D

    Jeff :rtfm:
     
  3. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Dust blobs normally do show as green I thought, I've not seen it said that the colour indicates the panel involved .. my limited experience of blobs were on the optics though.
     
  4. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871
    if you look carefully under the ribbons there usually a coloured dot indicating what pannel it is, a greenblob does indicated dust on the green pannel, i recently had a blue dust blob which took me 3 goes to shift, i ended up changing the air blaster to one i bought from jessops with the screw in dispensing nozzle, the air pressure on this seemed much stronger than the other can i used and it shifted the blob first time
     
  5. kidooneill

    kidooneill
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2004
    Messages:
    199
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +19
    Chic, I like your avatar :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
     
  6. GoggleBoy

    GoggleBoy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    Just wondering how easy and safe is it to DIY the dust blobs from my AE500.
    I phoned panasoninc tech support and they said they would do the work under warranty however it would take 4-6 weeks to do it :suicide: Quite a long time to be without my beloved PJ.
     
  7. chic

    chic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    5,975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    glasgow
    Ratings:
    +871

    very easy to do and as long as your carefull panasonic wont know you have opened the unit, just take care that you dont invert the can of air or propellant may come out, its best to learn how to do it as you will probably get dust plobs more than once
     

Share This Page

Loading...