1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ae200---my Findings

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by dek1965, Oct 27, 2003.

  1. dek1965

    dek1965
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Heysham
    Ratings:
    +5
    got a 200 a few days ago and been messing with variuos software/hardware.

    so here's my conclusions

    1st go

    ae200 connected to dvd player via component, projected onto wall (matt white)

    used attack of the clones 7ft wide image
    amazing picture
    next up sky via scart
    pretty good

    2nd go

    hooked it up to my spare pc

    xp1900
    512 ddr mem
    64mb geforce4 440
    8x dvd drive

    for this one i pixel mapped the pc using the ae100 settings i found on here

    projected onto a sheet of 6x4 matt white 2mm foamex that i "borrowed from work

    pc desktop looked ace, great fun surfing the web on a six foot browser

    used same dvd as b4 and powerdvd5

    nice picture but colours were washy

    next up windvd platinum

    superb picture, loads of options to play with , but limited stretching capabilities

    next theatertek

    f*cking awesome picture, good scaling ability, by far the best

    so to all u purists out there i recommend

    a hcpc running powerstrip & theatertek
    "probably the best picture in the world"

    while ure at it connect your soundcard up to your amp and you'll be buzzing
     
  2. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi,

    .
    .
    .

    .
    .
    .
    If you're using 1:1 pixel matching, then what's with the "stretching capabilities" of Windvd, or the "scaling" of Theatertek ? A little confusing.....................


    Sean G.
     
  3. dek1965

    dek1965
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Heysham
    Ratings:
    +5
    all dvd's are not the same size, so u either have black borders on screen or you either stretch the picture to fit or u scale the picture to fit, means the same thing
     
  4. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    the ritz,

    I hope you are taking this in ;)

    Cap:smashin:
     
  5. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Cap'n,

    Oh yes, indeed I am..........................

    dek/mumble...


    If you're using the software player to "stretch" a 2.35:1 image onto a 16:9 screen, then you're inevitably going to lose picture quality in one way or another - 2.35:1 movies are that shape for a reason........... it doesn't "have" to fill a 16:9 screen, and as well as quality degradation you're probably losing part of the image too. Kinda completely defeats the purpose of 1:1 pixel mapping imo............. normal approach is to mask the screen for different aspect ratios, not distort the image to fit - but it's a matter for your personal preference at the end of the day.


    Sean G.
     
  6. dek1965

    dek1965
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Heysham
    Ratings:
    +5
    image looked excellent to me, after it was stretched, looked same qaulity b4 and after stretching (we'll to me it did).

    like you said it's all down to personnal taste, and i prefer to have a full screen
     
  7. citrac

    citrac
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anybody advise where my friend and I might see one of these operational in Glasgow or near? It sounds like it is a great projector for the price.
     
  8. dek1965

    dek1965
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Heysham
    Ratings:
    +5
    try these

    BURGESS GIBSON LTD
    45 HIGH STREET
    DUNBLANE
    FK15 0EE
    tel: 01786 823176


    SHOP PANASONIC
    32 HIGH STREET
    PAISLEY
    PA1 2BZ
    tel: 0141 887 7025
     
  9. ani4ani

    ani4ani
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,007
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Belper, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +179
    I agree about TheaterTek being awesome off a PC - do you own a copy of it, as I cannot find a trial [unlike the others] or have you found a site to d/l a trial. I d/l PowerDVD 5 last night and tried it and was very impressed.
     
  10. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +704
    Go to robert whyte on dumbarton road in glasgow
     
  11. Jonathan100

    Jonathan100
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't know about places in Glasgow but Burgess and Gibson have a nice setup in Dunblane. They have a PT-AE200, with 2.4m wide screen connected to DVD player / surround sound setup and also to sky. The shop@panasonic in stirling which has just opened shold have the 300 and possibly the 200 on display soon too.
     
  12. Goof

    Goof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    760
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2
    Exactly what I've done with my 200 and the results are very good :)
    Only thing that bothers me is the screendoor on the 200, thinking about getting a Hoya filter, not too sure if this will help the screendoor any though. Does it bother you Dek? That said, I think I may just be sitting about 2ft too close (all room allows atm).
     
  13. dek1965

    dek1965
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Heysham
    Ratings:
    +5
    didn't really notice screendoor, have just got a new screen so i'll try it out on that, and like you i will be getting a hoya filter also
     

Share This Page

Loading...