1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AE-100 with Nintaus - screenshots

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Kramer, Mar 26, 2002.

  1. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Again sorry for the quality of the pics - been too busy "playing" with my new toy:D :D :D


    This is The Fifth Element (Superbit) playing on the Nintaus via VGA input (progressive). Image is 6ft across on a matte white 4/3 screen.
    [​IMG]

    The now christened "VGA bug" is clearly visible on the right hand side. The last 6-8 rows of pixels are shifted down by 1 or 2.
    This interestingly does not happen on Pal discs, just NTSC:confused:
    It's being looked into, & hopefully can be fixed by a firmware update.
    Neither does this exist on the component progressive input.

    This is a rather poor shot of the problem my Panny has. A bright blue area, visible on any dark shades. 1 or 2 pixels seem stuck open, but many surrounding pixels are badly smudged blue also. The total area affected is approx 10 pixels.
    [​IMG]


    Tim, that's a good possibility. Any opinions? I'd actually rather it be dust so I can remove it myself. Perfect colour uniformity & no other probs.

    Finally a couple of shots of the service mode/menu.


    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    More soon ;)
     
  2. Paul.B2

    Paul.B2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    1,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +184
    How do you get into the service menu??? :confused:
     
  3. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Pal through vga :) sound's good to me, I have mostly pal software.
    Your dead pixel's look very strange :confused:
    Could you resize your photo's a bit smaller please? they are just a little to big.
    Yes, how do you get that service menu up, I thought I had seen mine, but your's is totally differant.
     
  4. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kramer

    I received my Nintaus yesterday and was playing with it and the AE100 last night. The "VGA bug" as I recall is there on PAL as well but is hidden in the overscan you need to Auto adjust in the Position menu to show this. I think it is also there on progressive components too, but is also hidden in the overscan. If you shift the picture all the way to the left you can see it, but I havn't figured out how to adjust the overscan on Component input any suggestions.

    Apart from this and a few mpeg gliches I am impressed with the picture from VGA, with the AE100 PC Priority set to wide the picture is almost if not as good as from a HTPC, IMHO

    Nick
     
  5. HEADRAT

    HEADRAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi Guys,

    Where did you get your Nintaus from and how much was it ?

    Thanks

    HEADRAT
     
  6. pinda

    pinda
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    service menu....Go to OSD..and press enter twice..or hold enter..quite cool me thinks.
     
  7. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. HEADRAT

    HEADRAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +9
    Is there any problem with power supply to the unit ? do you need a transformer or anything ?

    HEADRAT
     
  9. Punce

    Punce
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Shire, Wales
    Ratings:
    +14
    What do all the options in the special menu all do? Is it safe to play around with them?

    Mark
     
  10. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Headrat

    No tranformer required, works on 100v to 240v


    Nick
     
  11. HEADRAT

    HEADRAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks for you response, very interested :)

    HEADRAT
     
  12. Lefreck

    Lefreck
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    L
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the "VGA-bug" due to the Nintaus dvd-player or is it a problem of the Panasonic?
     
  13. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Nintaus.
     
  14. Lefreck

    Lefreck
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    L
    Ratings:
    +0
    :( Is Nintaus already aware of the problem and is there a chance to get over it by a firmware update?
     
  15. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Kramer and Nick

    Is the vga bug such a problem, can you not just adjust the picture to the right so it is out of view, without seeing it a I am not quite sure what this bug look's like.

    Nick, you can only adjust the picture position with vga input.

    Lefreck, I believe the vga bug is the Nintaus.
     
  16. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tim

    I dont really notice the VGA bug at all when watching a movie. I really only see it when I look for it. I find the mpeg glitches more annoying but I can live with them for the time being, I just hope they can be fixed with a firmware upgrade.

    Nick
     
  17. HEADRAT

    HEADRAT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +9
    Can you explain what you mean by "mpeg glitches" ?

    HEADRAT
     
  18. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not my description, but sums it up pretty well.

    "MPEG glitches occurs perhaps once every five minutes and usually manifests itself as a small square area of the picture filled with incorrect information, or possibly just a solid color. (I have seen it manifest itself as larger glitches, too, although this is less common.)"

    See here for more info

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=127586

    Nick
     
  19. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've watched 4 films on the Nintaus, & am happy to say that mine has only shown the "MPEG glitches" about 8/10 times, approximately twice per film.

    As stated previously, small area of jumbled information, lasting a fraction of a second.

    It's happened on both Pal/NTSC, Reg1 & Reg2.

    Regarding the "VGA bug", this is not visible in Pal progressive, but is present in the overscan. Shifting the image to the left will show it. But it's no problem during normal use.

    There seems to be no overscan on NTSC material - hence the effect is visible. One can shift the image right, but at the expense of a black bar on the left hand side! Not very practical.

    Performance wise, I must say that both the progressive component & VGA outputs feeding the AE-100 are very good, with the VGA shading it. I've not tweaked the settings available using the VGA, but would forsee some more improvement when fully calibrated.

    Faults aside (minor as they are, & hopefully easily fixed via a firmware update), I think this is a fine player.

    For anyone thinking of feeding a AE-100 with S-video from a DVD, forget it.

    The difference between interlaced S-video & progressive VGA (or indeed progressive component) is night & day.

    I'm going away for the weekend, but tonight used the HTPC to watch AI. I'll give my opinions re all sources etc in the near future.

    BTW, AI looked crappy. I even reloaded The Fifth Element to see if the PC had a problem. It didn't. Not a big fan of that "dreamy, grainy, futuristic" type picture.

    Kramer
     
  20. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Kramer & Nick

    Could one of you play a pal disc in progressive scan through the vga port, and then check the AE100's menu and see if it is displaying 625p.
    If it doesn't, that means the Projector is down scaling the pal image, and it wont look as good as progressive ntsc.
     
  21. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    [​IMG]


    This was on the Progressive component input.

    It shows the VGA input from the Nintaus as SVGA, but I can't remember if that's the same on Pal & NTSC.

    I'll check it out later & post again.

    BTW, I've just tried a Pinnacle PCTV Rave PCI card fed with the S-video out from my Sky didibox, through d-Scaler & into the AE-100 via VGA input.

    Wow:D :D :D

    Massive improvement over the direct S-video interlaced input.

    I haven't messed around with the filters yet, but looks vert good indeed!
     
  22. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tim


    The AE100 reports SVGA with progressive scan through the vga port, with progressive through component inputs it reports 625p.

    The picture from pal VGA is almost as good as NTSC unfortunatly there seems to be a seam in the picture at times, a little way down from the top, this dosn't happen with component inputs as far as I know. The Pal progressive component picture is IMHO good, better than interlaced and steets ahead of s-video.

    As an aside, I watched the Fifth Element again last night and I only noticed one mpeg glitch and it was a very small one, but the player did seem to freeze at one point for about 2 seconds, other than this I am very pleased with the Nintaus, NTSC from the vga port is excellent IMHO and as 95% of my dvds are region 1 this suits me fine.
     
  23. Timh

    Timh
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2000
    Messages:
    4,805
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Altair-4
    Ratings:
    +128
    Thank's guy's

    I dont suppose it report's what resolution it's running at through the vga port.

    Kramer, factory settings :eek:
     
  24. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes Tim, I didn't spot that;)

    Just took some shots of the menus. Hadn't watched anything properly at that stage (well, through progressive Pal component).


    Nickhh,

    I've seen the "seem" also on Pal via VGA. It's sync that's the cause.
    Go to the Position menu & try Auto Setup when playing the disc. This should remove the seem. If not, manually adjust the Dot clock & clock phase. This does it for me.

    I've posted a review of the Nintaus & AE-100 here:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=33589

    Kramer
     
  25. nickhh

    nickhh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I hadn't thought of that, just thought it was some sort of player fault.

    Nick
     

Share This Page

Loading...