Advice with HP N54L

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by bmouthboyo, Feb 27, 2014.

1. bmouthboyo

bmouthboyo
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Guys,

Firstly I must state this is my first time with a home server, I have however taken the plunge and purchased a HP Microserver N54L to address, hopefully the following needs:

My wife is an architect and has over 1TB of very import files. She currently uses an iMac for all her work. We need a solution where this data is securely stored periodically but preferably regularly to not only minimise loss of old files / work but also to backup current projects as much as possible. She currently keeps old important files on an external USB3 Drive.

We live in Thailand and as you can imagine there is little good TV over the air so we rely on our Acer ER1402 eMachine to act as a HTPC to my HDTV. I have Win 7 installed and although bit clunky use a Keyboard and Mouse and mainly torrent constantly and watch HD movies on it. It is starting to lag up on HD 3D movies however. I have a Samsung UA46F7100DKXX LED TV that has wireless connection, not sure if that can access networked HD movie rips?

I personally use a Mac Air for most of my work and I would like to safely keep all my pictures, and documents some place that can be shared with the wife. I would also like to be able to store my vast MP3 collection centrally so I can play it on iPad, computers etc and not have to rely on a larger HDD being plugged into the laptop like I do now.

Summary:
    • Backup important work files
    • Backup current files being worked on iMac. preferably automatically
    • Central storage for Music, and HD Movie Rips
    • Shared Access to Photos
    • Ability to stream HD content to HTPC, preferably wirelessly.
    • Always on torrenting which can be easily accessed to add new torrents to download etc.