Advice required re. adding speakers to a television

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Cantona2003, Apr 21, 2003.

1. Cantona2003

Cantona2003

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a new television arriving on Thursday (LG 28" widescreen), and would like to add speakers to it for a surround sound effect.

However, I am new to the 'home cinema world', and I am really not sure which speakers I need to buy, and indeed how they would connect to my television.

Am I right in thinking that I would need a 'phono to phono' lead to connect the speakers to the television? If so, do I only need to buy a short lead for the speaker that would be nearest to the television (of course, not too near due to the magnetic field), as I would like to put the other speaker at the other side of the room.

I have seen some in Argos, but they seem to be Dolby Digital 5.1 ones, but I don't have a Dolby Digital 5.1 DVD player, it only says 'dts' and 'dolby digital' on it.

Can someone please advise me?

2. nathan_silly

nathan_silly

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you buy a Pro-Logic TV? (with speaker outputs) if so you can buy a small set of passive speakers and connect to the TV.

Another alternative is buying a active set of speakers (ie like PC speakers), but with DD/DTS 5.1 decoding.

Sure someone will recommend a active set.

Or go down AV amp/5.1 system, but talking more money

3. lespaton

lespaton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0