1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

advice required please

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by leeb1977, Mar 9, 2005.

1. leeb1977

leeb1977

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    hiya folks

im looking for a digital video camera but im on a budget!

I can spend upto around £250.

I'm looking for a camera with MiniDV or equiv' so that i can hook it upto my PC and convert to DVD format.

Ive looked on the net and to be honest theres that many cameras available that i honestly have no clue what to go for, there seems to be a lot from people such as Nisis and Mustek but to be honest they look a bit cheap and nasty (maybe im wrong??).

Any advice you could give me would be great - even if its just a few tips on what to look out for... im a total novice when it comes to camcorders.

2. leeb1977

leeb1977

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Hiddenmission

Hiddenmission

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought the JVC model from Pixmania for £210, and so far I'm impressed. I haven't transferred to PC yet (see my recent post relating to Firewire :( ), but for picture quality, ease of use, etc, I have no complaints. I've only used it for holiday/family type things, so couldn't comment on its suitability for anything more serious, but to be honest, for the budget you have, I doubt there will be much in it.

I find it a very easy camera to get on with, and the general quality seems to be top class.

I would happily recommend it as a general use camera - let me know if you have any more specific questions. And if you buy from Pixmania, search the web for the various promotions they have running - I managed to save myself an extra £8.

4. niptuck

niptuck

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0