Question Advice re. Atmos speaker upgrade

ElectricGeek

Established Member
Reaction score
I’m fairly new to the home cinema game and just wondering if given my room/setup it’s even worth upgrading...

I currently have the Sony STR DH790 AVR
and 5.1 Wharfdale DX-2speaker setup.
My AVR can only do 5.1.2 config.
My home cinema room is fairly small, square shaped, spare bedroom but has fairly high ceilings as a 1900s build. MLP is on sofa along back wall so 7.1 setup not achievable but 5.1 sounds good to me however I guess I just have FOMO having atmos capable receiver and plenty of 4K discs with atmos tracks to try!

my worry is that...

the most convenient option of Front height speakers sitting on L/R won’t reach the ceiling properly to reflect back effectively and would just end up being a waste of money.

Can anyone share their experience of upfiring in high ceiling rooms? and/ or recommend any upfiring speakers to add to my existing setup?

Thanks

Upfiring usually works better the lower the ceiling is (coming from professional installers mouth) so with high ceiling likely is waste of money.

Do you have option to mount height channels for side walls higher up?

Read this short article below and you see the idea behind it, no need to use SVS speakers though.

Upfiring usually works better the lower the ceiling is (coming from professional installers mouth) so with high ceiling likely is waste of money.

Do you have option to mount height channels for side walls higher up?

Read this short article below and you see the idea behind it, no need to use SVS speakers though.

Thanks for that 👍

I’m thinking mounting fairly high using a speaker similar to the SVS could be a good shout now. I’ve had a look at some similar models from DALI, MONITOR etc and noticed that although designed for atmos certified up-firing, when the manufacturers talk about using as height speakers; front, side or rear, they don’t state this is for atmos use?