• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Advice please - what do I need to connect a turntable, PC and 5.1 speakers?

BapAndFuro

Standard Member
I am confused as to what I need to buy - receiver, amplifier, hifi? :confused:

I want something that I can connect:
  • My turntable to so I can play records
  • My laptop to so I can play mp3s and sound from my laptop
  • Allow me to connect a 5.1 speaker system
  • Play CDs (not essential but would be good - can play CDs through my laptop if not)

I don't have 5.1 speakers yet so if you can suggest a package deal that would be fine as well.

I have quite a low budget as I am a student but I am sure you audio experts can suggest something. :)

Thanks,
BapAndFuro

noiseboy72

Distinguished Member
Most budget AV receivers do not have a phono imput. YOu say you want 5.1, but what is your source ? If it is DVD, look out for a second hand Arcam receiver. These sound stunning and some of them have a phono imput as well. Otherwise, an outboard phono pre-amp can be bought for £50.

Speaker wise, how big is your room ? A small room suits small speakers and funnily enough, big speakers need a bit of air to work....

The mistake most students make (Sorry to generalise) is to purchase huge floorstanding speakers for use in a small room. They sound awful, all waffly and boomy!

Have a look at one of the all in one receivers - £199 will get you a half decent 5.1 amp, £50 for the phono preamp & £500 will get you a good starter 5.1 package. Too Rich ?? Try a budget combined amp & blu ray or DVD player with built in subs and speakers. £500 will get you something you can be proud of.

Still too rich ???? Asda sell a system for £139...

Badger0-0

Distinguished Member
Allow me to connect a 5.1 speaker system

A receiver springs to mind.