Advice please for a complete novice!

Discussion in 'Music Streamers' started by s7uart, Jun 1, 2008.

1. s7uart

s7uart
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am building a a new house and would like to have some Audio streaming in several rooms of the house. I quite like the look of the Squeeze Box Duet and would purchase some additional receivers for other rooms. I would like to use in-ceiling speakers rather than a hi-fi system but dont know where to start with this as i've seen so many different setups and i'm confused by the terminalogy most of the time.

What do I actually need to buy to get things working from scratch with least hassle and expense? (amps, pre-amps, passive/active speakers??) I will be running it from a NAS wired up with some CAT5 or CAT7 (due to poor wireless signal)

I thought I could just buy the SB Duet and attach them via speaker wire to some powered speakers and it would work.... is this the case?

really sorry for some stupid questions

Stuart

2. s7uart

s7uart
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry just noticed this should be in the Audio Electronics->Streamers & Network Music Players forum...

Admin can you please move this?

3. kingfats

kingfats
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8,612
    Yep :D moved. :smashin:

4. doubledrop

doubledrop
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    i've recently done something similar and it works well for my house: Duet in-lounge feeding Rega Brio amp for kitchen, pre-out of this into another Rega Brio that feeds the bathroom, pre-out of this into Denon AVR3805 that feeds the 5.1 in lounge.

that lot gives me option of three zones fed from one Duet, all separate on/off and independent volumes. sweet.

i'm running wi-fi from a basic BT free hub with no issues, but cat5 would obviously work even easier for you.