Advice on switches to use with Shelly 2 dimmers

Amaster

Standard Member
Hi all

New to this side of the forums and have asked a few of you for some advice,

I have found the 3 position retractive switches from scolmore and varilight in the screwless design I’m looking for. And I thank many of you for the advice.

I will be buying some Shelly bypasses for each circuit to be used on the ceiling rose with each shelly device (as per the diagrams for low load circuits) but will probably use one for each circuit regardless.

I have come across an issue with using these switches that needs some clarification as I’m new to buying these switches in that the apparently to use the 3 position switches to turn on and dim on their own would not allow this functionality alone and must be used with LED fittings (I assume this mean LED dimmable bulbs) or drivers that have the switchDIM functionality? Can anyone clarify what these drivers are? Or whether I would need them if I installed a Shelly dimmer 2

from what I hear having a neutral to the ceiling rose would be preferable, how hard would this be for my electrician to run now that everything’s has been plastered?

also does the Shelly dimmer have to be installed in the back box or could it be installed closer to the ceiling rose?

Thankyou for your help in advance.

Seb Briggs

I have come across an issue with using these switches that needs some clarification as I’m new to buying these switches in that the apparently to use the 3 position switches to turn on and dim on their own would not allow this functionality alone and must be used with LED fittings (I assume this mean LED dimmable bulbs) or drivers that have the switchDIM functionality? Can anyone clarify what these drivers are? Or whether I would need them if I installed a Shelly dimmer 2

The switches must be used with a Shelly module and dimmable LED bulbs to be able to use them at the switch location. The shelly Dimmer 2 is 230v so the led fittings need to be 230v