Advice on rear speaker placement needed (pics included)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Gavin C1, Jan 24, 2008.

1. Gavin C1

Gavin C1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    Hello :)

I've mounted my KEF TDM 34DS's on my rear wall, but am wondering if their placement could be better. I've taken photo's of how they are at the minute. The top of the speakers are about half a metre from the celing.

The usual seating position is about in the middle of the two rear speakers. (about the centre of the right side of the sofa)

[​IMG]

Please excuse the mess, I'm still in the process of setting things up and getting wiring sorted so there are wires and general mess everywhere :rolleyes:

Here is another picture to maybe give you a better perspective of height of the speakers. Again, excuse the mess.

[​IMG]

Thanks for looking :)

2. RossFlet

RossFlet

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16
    Now, I'm no HT expert but it seems to me that rear speakers are supposed to be that. Behind you, not above you. What you've not told us is how long the room is, viewing distance to the tele etc. IMHO those rears look fairly big and rather an overkill if you're sitting too close to them.

If it's possible I would shuffle the couch forward OR do that when you are using the rear speakers and lower them. At the moment they are firing over your head and I can imagine would give all sorts of strange reflections such as the surround sound image could become quite confused. Toeing them in (for which you would need brackets) might help as well.

I think you'll get more replies if you tell us more. Show us a photo of the other end of the room - we're not concerned about the mess :D and provide some room dimensions, layout etc.

Ross

3. Gavin C1

Gavin C1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28