Advice on New Home Cinema Kit / AV Receiver

G

gb5

Hi,
I am planning to buy a new TV, Blue-ray player & Cinema Surround Sound System. Here is what I had in mind…

1. Sony 40” Bravia LCD TV (KDL-40W4000) - £1270 (Cheapelectricals.co.uk)
2. Sony Blu-ray Disc Player (BDP-S500) - £465 (Cheapelectricals.co.uk)
3. Sony Home Cinema Surround Kit (HT-SF1300) - £315 (Cheapelectricals.co.uk)
4. With Sky HD Box

I’m no expert, so I’ve been doing a bit of reading up recently. This has generated more questions. Wanted to ask someone in the know, rather than some sale bod in a shop.

What I’m concerned about is that the Home Cinema Surround Kit supports video pass through of High Definition 1080p from Blu-ray & HD channels, but doesn’t support video upscaling. Is this going to affect the quality of images/sound from normal DVD disks/non HD channels? Also, there is no support for the new Dolby True HD.

I’ve noticed that some AV Receivers support Video Upscaling & True HD, but these tend to be quite expensive. Is it worth spending the extra, or it something that I don’t really need?

Are there any better Home Cinema Kit’s than the one I have in mind? Do the AV receivers offer better quality sound & video than the Home Cinema Kit?

Any advice / recommendations would be most appreciated!!

To be frank with you and this is my opinion I wouldn't buy any of those items that you have on your list except SKY HD.

You could get a much better sound system by not spending so much on the screen and still be getting a better screen.

You could get a Panasonic PX80 OR PZ80 Plasama for £699 or £899 repsectively and thus giving you extra to spend on the sound system. Also at this price you can get them from John lewis's on a price match which then also includes a free 5 year guarantee.