Advice on my first seperates system.

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Brodel, Jan 21, 2008.

1. Brodel

Brodel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +24
    Hey there,

I want to connect my PC to a separates system and improve the experience of playing mp3's but still retain my current 5.1 system for gaming. I'm on a fairly tight budget but am willing to spend a little more if it will save me later down the road. I'm a complete novice at this and it will be my first separates system if it happens so any help is appreciated.

Firstly I'm not sure if I should buy an amp like the Cambridge A5, or an AV Receiver with plans to maybe connect my TV/DVD/360 etc to as well.
    The AV Reciever has pretty much just crossed my mind but with regards to an amp and a budget of around 200 quid or so, would deal #2 at richer sounds be a good start, or would picking up the Cambridge A1 Version 3 and a pair of 120 pound floorstanding or bookshelf speakers be a better bet? Or should I really be saving up more and waiting to get something totally different? I was considering a pair of Logitech z-5500's and a X-Fi XtremeMusic Soundcard as most of my music is on the computer now, but I'm not sure how they'd compare to a seperates system and they aren't upgradeable.

As you can tell I'm pretty up in the air at the moment, any advice or suggestions are appreciated. Thanks

2. Scott_Mac

Scott_Mac

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +623
    A proper system will far exceed the abilities of something like the Logitech system....

What actually is your budget?

If you plan to get into 5 channels at a later stage then i personally would say buy a decent stereo amp now and add an AV processor at a later stage, a budget AV amp is unlikely to be great and there is a period of great change at the moment so i'd let the dust settle first!