1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on HTPC Build Please

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by gcmillwood, Aug 12, 2002.

1. gcmillwood

gcmillwood

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I've finally convinced my wife to let me built a PC for our living room, but since I've never done the HTPC thing before I think I ought to ask for some advice before I start.

The PC will be used mainly for playing DVDs, mp3s, and CDs (and other such home entertainment goodies). It will also see occaisional use for games and web surfing. (The main games/internet machine lives upstairs in the office, but sometimes both the wife and I want to play games at the same time).

I want to use my TV as the display (its a 28 inch Toshiba widescreen).

Anyway, here are the components I'm thinking of using:
    - Shuttle Spacewalker SS51G Aluminium Barebones System
    - Intel Pentium 4 2.0Ghz
    - 256 Mb PC2100 RAM from Crucial
    - Pioneer DVD-106S
    - Leadtek WinFast A250LE TD MyVIVO (GeForce4 Ti4200, 128Mb)
    - IR Keyboard with integrated trackball
    - Seagate Barracuda 60Gb hard drive

The shuttle base system comes with built in sound, video and network capabilities, but onyl has 2 expansion slots - 1 AGP (to be occupied by the GeForce 4) and 1 PCI (expected to be empty). If necessary I will underclock the processor to keep the temperature down, as the fan can then run at a slower speed.

Future upgrade are likely to include a TV tuner of some description (maybe swap in an ATI All in Wonder card) so I could turn it into a tivo style pvr. I'd also love to get a Pronto remote. With any luck I will also get a better display of some kind as well.

So what do you think - is there any chance this will work?
    What should I change?
    Is connecting this to my TV going to be more hassle than it is worth?