Advice on home networking setup and best 'single' ethernet cable for CCTV and burying in walls.

Scoobster

Novice Member
Hi,

We have recently taken over a property and bringing it up to standard with new electricity wiring and I am also planning to setup a home network with wired ethernet and CCTV. I am not a pro networker but have a sufficient (ish) networking and can follow through most of the setup myself/config myself. The cables will be pulled by the electrician to each of the locations.

The plan would look something like the following

Comms Cupboard
This would contain:
6u (or other suitable cabinet) which would have inside:
Power supply
Patch panel - 24 or 48 port (24 should be sufficient for our needs)
Patch cables from patch panel to switch.
Network switch perhaps something like a TP Link TSL12 16 Port Switch.
Wireless AP - something like a TP Link EAP 225 or maybe Ubiquiti Networks Unify - This is really just to ensure strong coverage of WIFI also in the house.
CCTV NVR - which would have the ethernet cable for each camera plugged in.

Someone also suggested an Omada cloud key - don't know too much about these?

Each room would have an RJ45 module which would get punched down with Cat6 unshielded ethernet cable for running smart tv's, games consoles etc etc. Maybe having 2/3 ports in each box with a mounted face plate.

I wanted to use Cat6 internally within the house to run under floorboards and take into the loft etc and if possible also use the same Cat6 cable for the CCTV - but wondered if this would be a wise idea or not. This saves having to buy 2 different graded cables - one for internal use and one for external.