Advice on Home Cinema purchase please

happyspider

Standard Member
Hi, looking to replace Sony DAV-DZ111 all in one system with a new system of separates, including a blu-ray player.

My budget is £500-£650. I'm a newbie in this regard.

Front room is approx 4 sq metres and system will be connected to Sky HD - possible console in the not to distant future as we have a 2 year old daughter.

Will mainly be used for Sky HD, Disney films, music via Sky HD.

Would like wi-fi connection for laptop and/or i-pod docking station.

Any advice gratefully received.

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Your budget is going to be tight. The bluray player will soak up £100 or so from your budget.

WiFi (networking) is usually only found on higher end AV Receivers but there are a number of budget receivers with ipod connections. Ideally look for a digital input to maintain the audio quality and avoid using the poor digital to analogue conversion found in the iPod. This feature is found on the likes of the Pioneer VSX-820.

There are cheaper options i.e. adding a standard ipod dock to a budget AV Receiver but this isn't as good quality as using a digital connection. All the main AV Receiver manufacturers make optional ipod docks. The best ipod dock is probably the Onkyo ND-S1. It really depends on your budget and if you think it's acceptable to spend the extra on compressed audio. There are other methods of connecting ipods, the cheapest is a 3.5mm to phono cable from the headphone output. Russ Andrews make the GQ-24 cable, which some ipod users are pretty happy with.