Advice on HDMI requirements for New LCD

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by Doctor129, Mar 10, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Doctor129

Doctor129

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dear All,

I am new to this - so please forgive me for any incorrect procedures, rules, etc that I may make. Any advice will be much appreciated.:thumbsup:

I have been looking at various LCD screens as an investment mainly for the World Cup coming up - but also for the kids to watch DVD's. I have a million question's to ask but will try and limit it!

I am border line in size between 32"=comfortable in the room ; 37=slighlty to big. According to the missus :thumbsdow she reckons 32. Anyway I digress, I had looked at the Panny 32LXD52, with one HDMI, but the new models (which I don't like as much have 2 HMDI - LXD60 model).

My main use will be an HD input from Telewest when it arrives and a DVD recorder. No games consoles in use. Do you guys reckon 1 HDMI will be enough? I thought that my DVD could go through RGB Scart and this would be sufficent quality for me/wife/kids. The telewest could then use the single HDMI.

However, do you reckon I would be able to record HD from Telewest (not sure of the HDCP implications), or will I need a recorder with HDMI????.

Very ignorant,stupid,etc so-sorry. I have read lots of mags and threads, but can't quite decide if 1 HDMI is enough and can I record High-Def.

Cheers and thanks to all who post.

Doctor129,:suicide:

2. telford_mike

telford_mike

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    You're quite right - 1 HDMI will do for now.

However, a TV is a major purchase and you'll expect it to last quite some time. In future there will be High-def DVD and who knows what else - most new stuff will need an HDMI input. With this in mind I'd go for a set with as many HDMI inputs as possible.