Advice on freeview boxes needed!

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by gaz010, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. gaz010

    gaz010
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am considering getting Sagem ITD68, PHILIPS DTR2520/05 or the Sagem ITD 72.

    I have read that the philips box is quite noise however. This would not be good as this box is for a bedroom. So ideally it would be good to get a quiet box.

    Advice pleases thanks.

    Gaz.
     
  2. mike7

    mike7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,949
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +618
    I'm not quite sure what sort of noise you are talking about. These are all standard Freeview boxes (without hard drives). I've got a Philips box in the bedroom and it has never kept me awake at night.
     
  3. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    Some PVR Freeview boxes - i.e. receivers with a built in hard drive - can be noisy due to the fan and hard drive, BTVision being amongst the worst by all accounts.
    However, as has already been pointed out, the boxes you are considering are not PVRs and will make no discernible noise unless you happen to have animal-like hearing
     
  4. gaz010

    gaz010
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks.

    I have also read that there is some issues with Sagems boxes where by the picture gets squished is there any truth in this.
    I got this information at another forum being the radio and telly forum.

    However most things in there get slated for some reason.

    Also i will be hooking it up to a samsung dvd vid combi player.
    Will the player be compatible to record on as it is the samsung DVD V6700s
     
  5. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    23,762
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,570
    You've come to the right place for good solid reliable advice. :smashin:

    I don't see why not.
     
  6. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    The "squished" picture syndrome is usually caused by incorrect settings on the receiver (not just Sagem's) and/or the (widescreen) TV

    People try to watch a 4:3 broadcast filling a 16:9 widescreen and , of course, the picture has to be stretched to achieve this - hence the "squished" picture
     
  7. gaz010

    gaz010
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that somthing similar to when you watch DVD's and the set up is for wide screen. It will automaticaly go to the 16:9 setting.

    So if you set the setting of the Freeview box or TV setting to the standard ratio 4:3 that should fix the problem.
     
  8. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995

    If you use a standard 4:3 TV then set the Freeview box to 4:3, likewise if you have a widescreen TV then set the box to 16:9.
    The problem occurs with some boadcasts of programmes made in 4:3 when, in an attempt to fill a widescreen TV people "zoom" and try various other methods to get rid of the black bars at either side of the picture.
    There's loads of posts concerning "Stretchyvision" in various parts of this forum including this

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=350360&highlight=stretchyvision

    and this illustrates the effects

    http://www.protechtv.co.uk/jargon_wide.asp
     
  9. gaz010

    gaz010
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much for this information. It certainly has cleared up a few points for me.:thumbsup:

    Now Just to decide on ether the PHILIPS DTR2520/05 or the Sagem ITD 72.

    I don't think i will bother with the Sagem ITD68 as it only has the one scart socket.
    And i don't fully understand how the daisy chain works :lesson::lease:

    I.E Do i need to have my combo player at the ON position when i am watching TV. As it is at the moment it is on the OFF mode?
    :smashin:
     
  10. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
  11. ROYOLD

    ROYOLD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    3,898
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Royton, Oldham. Lancs.
    Ratings:
    +296
    Some freeview boxes will not pass the RF loop signal from input to output unless the box is left either on or at least on standby.
    Take note of this if you are daisy chaining a freeview signal from the aerial thru the STB to DVD/VCR combi to TV.

    The best way to check is by viewing the picture on the TV with various combinations.
    STB off/on standby : Combi off/on standby.
    I don't know about the STB but possibly the combi will give some RF amplification to the freeview signals when either ON or on standby.

    Another connection diagram website is available from Sony :

    http://support.sony-europe.com/tutorials/tv/diagrams/diagrams.asp?l=en
     
  12. gaz010

    gaz010
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are giving me plenty to think about.:smashin:
    This i think is my main concern! :nono:

    the boxes that i mentioned before:rolleyes: which will pass the RF loop thing best or would my best bet be to go with the philips :suicide:
     
  13. fernandez

    fernandez
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,039
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +995
    The RF signal not being passed unless the box is in standby is common practice with most equipment as the passed/looped through output is usually amplified to overcome any losses due to splitting the signal.
    In any event, green issues aside, the majority of equipment nowadays especially Freeview/Sky/other satellite/DVD recorders is not designed to be switched off but left in standby - Freeview/Sky boxes need be be in (at least) standby to receive OTA (Over The Air) updates etc. and in the case of DVD/VCR future timed events would be lost by switching off completely.
    Believe me this matter is not a cause for concern
     
  14. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,730
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +6,305
    Agree totally. For example, my DVD recorder uses .68W when in standby according to the book. Thats a bit less than half a kWh a month or, in cost terms, less than 4p at the rates I pay for electricity. There are much more effective ways of saving money and the climate.
     

Share This Page

Loading...