1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

advice on dvd-r media etc

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by bunyboy, Jun 6, 2005.

1. bunyboy

bunyboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    i'm just getting into burning my own dvd's.. i have recently had a company make a bunch of dvd copies of my showreel but am now thinking that i could do it cheaper myself (the cheapest they can do per copy is £3.50 with simple black font printed on silver disk).....

i have a pionner 104 dvd drive in my mac
    am thinking of getting a canon ip4000 printer to print onto the disks
    and am now thinking i should get taiyo yuden dvd-r's (they need to be silver printable)...... i want these disks to last as long as possible and have the best chance of playing back in any machine they are put in...

i think the disks i had done professionally are taiyo yuden but am not sure... i found a link to the number "GG000102" printed on the disk and TY when i did a google search but I'm hoping somebody could confirm or deny this is true and maybe even give me more specifics of the dvd-r's this company used...?

plus, any ideas the best place (ie good price and REAL ty disks) online or off?

thanks all............

2. redsox_mark

redsox_mark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +621
  3. Maff et1

Maff et1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I always get my media from SVP (www.svp.co.uk) - they sell TY disks (cakes of 100 about 39p a disc). You can get TY media itself, or some Verbatim media is TY.