Advice On Contracting Required

dtobin

Hi,

I've been working in IT for several years now, the last 4 or 5 as a Software Performance tester.

I've thought many times about the idea of going contracting but have never really looked into it or gone beyond the initial pondering stage.

Recently though, I've started to think I might give it a go. I'm going to look at the idea in more detail over the next few days but was just after a few bits of advice from people with experience.

Initial questions off the top of my head:

1) I'm 41 - too old?
2) I have a wife, 3 kids and a (small) mortgage - too risky?
3) The admin side of contracting - too complicated?

I'm sure I'll come up with further questions as I look into it more but those are my initial ramblings :)

Any help or advice much appreciated,

Cheers

nheather

Distinguished Member
Not a contractor but a permie that has taken on many contractors in my career.

So I'll start with my view of contractor

1) too old - not at all. If you have the skills then I've seen no evidence of ageism in contracting - you are more likely to experience it as a problem in the permie sector

2) depends on your skills - with the right ones there is plenty of work around. The two observations I will make are

(a) you might have to travel where the work is - true of any job - but with contracting it can happen more frequently
(b) in my line of work, in the past contractors could be with the same customer for ten years or more. But employment position has changed that a lot - my employer will not keep a contractor on for more than two years now because after that HMRC requires them to be treated as permies