1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on buying an amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ElchenUK, Jan 5, 2004.

1. ElchenUK

ElchenUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm pretty new at this and need some recommendations on which Amp would be suitable for my requirements.
    At the moment I have a bog standard widescreen telly which has my DVD player connected to it and also my VCR. I want an amp to connect to my DVD player via Coax. In the future i will be buying a freeview box and a digital tuner so I'm wondering if these also need connecting to the amp.
    I'm not too sure if I need 6.1 sound as I understand most DVDs don't come with this yet. Also my telly will not accept prog scan and I doubt I will be upgrading it for a long time.
    If it helps I currently use my DVD mainly for music DVDs i.e. concerts etc, and MP3s, so an amp that can satisfy these two mainly would be ideal.
    I have £200 to play with.

Any help would much appreciated
    cheers,
    E

2. ElchenUK

ElchenUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK I have narrowed my choice down to these units, can anyone comment please?

Yamaha RXV340
    SONY STRDE485
    Pioneer VSXC301

cheers,
    E

3. Wasabi

Wasabi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    SBC (Swedish Born Chinese)/lived in UK since 96, C
    Ratings:
    +32
    E,

You seem to need 1 coax input and 1 optical input (Digital tuner) and 1 analogue input (freeview), and the more spares the better if you want to add sources.

When you mean play mp3's are you connecting a pc or using dvd to play mp3? If you mean connecting a pc, it will be mostly analouge input unless you have a really good sound card, but mp3 are 2channel modes anyway.

Also, 6channel dvd film tracks are becoming rapidly common, but not dvd music though, and as you said your are focusing on music.