1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice on biamping please

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by derekn, Mar 19, 2005.

  1. derekn

    derekn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +31
    One of the possible uses of my new amp is to biamp my front speakers. With my old Audiolabs it was easy with their Input and Load Terminals.

    The TAG only has an Input terminal - is it ok to put a splitter on it and run the signal in and out of the same terminal? Even onto another module on the same amp?

    It works ok with subs, but that's just LF. I wonder if splitting the signal from the AV32 will degrade it and thus defeat the object of the experiment.

    Does anyone know/has anyone tried this?

    Thanks,

    Derek
     
  2. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +172
  3. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,416
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +49
  4. derekn

    derekn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +31
    Thanks Miron and AMCross. I did contribute to that thread - my experience with subwoofers. It's just that yesterday I went into my local Sevenoaks to see if they sold splitters; the guy asked me what I wanted it for and, when I told him, he said that splitting the signal would have an adverse effect :confused:. I'm not sure he is right and would welcome other options/opinions/experience before I buy the bits and try it.

    Thanks,

    Derek
     
  5. AMCross

    AMCross
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    5,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston,Scotland
    Ratings:
    +172
    Sorry toooo much alcohol yesterday after the rugby :rotfl: :rotfl:

    but seriously i would run the cable to the amp and on the amp input use a splitter the type sold in maplins ( y configuaration) and then onto the bi amp module

    i really cannot see any problems i used them all the time years ago in nightclub power amp installations
     
  6. eisenach

    eisenach
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    My amp arrived on Friday. I'd found a rather nice looking splitter on the web from a shop in Germany. (I can't get the link to work, but put "rca splitter" into Google images and pick the prettiest one! Maier Audio were very quick to send after I enclose 15€ cash)
    I run the main feed to the splitter in the r/l amp inputs and feed it on to the adjacent modules. It seems to work fine.

    By the way, being somewhat impatient and not expecting such a fast return from Germany, I bought some splitters from my local HiFi shop. They're very similar to the ones from Germany, if not quite as pretty! Cheaper too!
     

Share This Page

Loading...