Advice of new Projector and Screen

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gwc, Apr 1, 2004.

1. gwc

gwc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi,

I am looking to kit out another room, which will include a projector and screen. I have a budget of £2,000 for both the projector and screen.

I know nothing about this technology so any suggestions or tips would be appreciated.

Cheers

gwc

2. SanPedro

SanPedro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +522
    The projector FAQ at the top of the page has a lot of useful information and is a good 1st point of call if you're a complete newby.

Is the room dedicated to Home Cinema? As this will greatly influence recommendations on PJs and screens.

CL

3. ntslik

ntslik

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    If you could creep slightly over the £2000 budget i would recommend the Themescene H56, depends if your looking for a fixed screen or electric, if it's fixed check our offer out.

4. gwc

gwc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Chris

The room will be a dedicated home cinema room.

Cheers

gwc

5. Peter Parker

Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,400
    I can second Neils recommendation for the H56 at just over £2000. It compared favourably on the US forum with the NEC HT1000 which is a highly rated projector, so is definately worth a look.

Whatever you decide - LCD or DLP, you should get a demo and not buy without seeing some in action.

If you are any good at DIY, you can make a half decent fixed screen from wood and white blackout cloth fabric for around £30. I've some pics on my website if youre interested in what the screen can look like.

Gary.

6. gwc

gwc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Gary,