Advice needed

guvvie

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to all this and have been happy with listening to DD soundtracks using the onboard decoder on my tosh 36zp38. But After listening to a friends set up using a AV reciever I was blown away. I have ordered the speakers, I have gone for the Canton CD 1's. I was all decided on getting the Denon 1906 but now I am not so sure. I don't really wanna spend over £350, the system will be used for TV/movies only. From reading stuff on here I think I would quite like component video up conversion because I can then let the amp do the audio/visual switching which I assume is the best way to go. So any advice on whether to stick with my initial idea and get the denon, or whether to switch to one of the Yamaha's (RX-V557S, RX-V657S), or switch to one that I haven't mentioned would be very much appreciated.

Oct 05 What HiFi has a group test of £250£350 receivers which be worth a read, the Denon 1906 comes out on top but no of them have component upconversion IIRC.

Sept 05 had £500 group test and the Yam757 had up conversion but was pimpped to he post by the Pioneer VSX-1015 (without component up conversion). My Yam 650 does not have component up conversion.

If you do not have component up conversion you can still use the amp to do the video switching. I have my dvd (Pio 575) connected to the amp via component with another spare component in ready sto SKY HD and then Humax PVR via S-video with ~ 5 s-video spare just in case.

What about WMV Pro decoding and HDMI inputs??

I am still unclear about how it all connects togther. I thought I would be connecting my ps2, dvd player to the avr using component, my sky+ using svideo and then come out the back of the amp to the component sockets on my tv, is this not correct? Can I do it like this without component up conversion? At the mo I only have a CRT TV but I will be getting a 37" LCD around xmas time, so HDMI inputs will be needed in the future.