• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Advice Needed: Which amplifier?

MisterLeroy

Standard Member
Hey AVF!

So, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to Audio.

A few years back I became owner of a pair of JPW floorstanding things..

xHY0g9S.jpg

I had an amplifier at the time that worked sublimely with them. Since moving country a few times, the amplifier has gone walkabouts.

I replaced it, seemingly naively, with this:

A-209R (Archived) - Pioneer UK

Please feel free to mock, poke and laugh at the Gamer nerd :D I deserve it.

Never the less, that amplifier lasted about 2 months before I blew one of the channels. (speakers lived thankfully).

Now, could you find folk give me pointers on what went wrong, and where one might find a suitable, yet not bank breaking amplifier to get those JPWs back up and beating again?

Thanks.

337GUS

Have you had the speakers checked? I had a pair that blew one channel of an amp, wasn't the amp at fault.

Any budget in mind? Used OK?

Gus

MisterLeroy

Standard Member
Well, I'd be happy to part with a couple of hundred Eurodollars (or quid, whichever really!). Used is also fine, but risky of course.

I've not had them checked as it goes, which could be worthwhile given what you say.

I don't really understand much about amplifiers/speakers and what all the numbers mean in relation to each other.

Was the amp I linked up to the job of ragging those floorstanders?

337GUS

How loud did you go with it, if you push too hard you get a thing called clipping which can damage things,, you get a distorted sound, some amps like NAD have protection against it or at least they used to do I think they called it soft clipping mode, it stopped the distortion happening

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clipping_(audio)