Advice needed on wiring the house please

Jaspal

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello there,

I am positive that this question has been asked, but I could not find the answer on various threads under here, so apologies in advance for asking this question. I have just bought a 3 bed house in London and because it will have to stripped for renovation, I though I will get rewiring done.

Plan:
Have a wall mounted telly,Sky HD box & surround system in the living room and one bedroom and a gaming console in the living room
Have speakers in the hallway, kitchen, two other bedrooms bathroom upstairs and in future in loft and extended Kitchen

Questions:

1) How many Cat6 cables do I need to run in each room and why? Pardon my ignorance as I am a novice

2) Would I need Coax cable for telly?

3) Would I need RJ45 for telly's are going to be? and separate for phones?

4) After reading a few threads, I have gathered that all the cables need to come to one central location (Node 0); how would I get internet from my router to all the rooms and how do I get my skyboxes connected?

5) How many and which speaker wires should I run?

6) Amplifiers & connecting speakers - Again pardon my ignorance, but how can I use them to get wireless music through speakers in my house?

7) Do I need to run CAT 6 in the front & back of the house as well?

8) What should I keep in mind for future extension and loft conversion from cabling & wiring prespective?

9) Are there any brands that I should buy for CAT6 cabling?

Thank you in advance

1) How many Cat6 cables do I need to run in each room and why? Pardon my ignorance as I am a novice

At least 3, 1 for HDTV Distribution, 1 for Smart TV/Internet and one spare

2) Would I need Coax cable for telly?

Yes best to have back up of freeview TV

3) Would I need RJ45 for telly's are going to be? and separate for phones?

Yes Cat6 as above, do you actually use landline phone, if so run another Cat6 ?