1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice needed on DVD-R/HDD combi

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mattDP, Mar 22, 2005.

1. mattDP

mattDP
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

I'm pretty new to all this stuff, and not much up on the finer points of the technology but I'm looking to replace my really, really old VCR (11 yrs - the machine still works but the "play" on the remote has gone :)). Buying something that's going to last another 11 yrs is important, and DVDR/HDD seems the way to go.

The following features are important to me.
    1) It ought to display widescreen TV transmissions OK (I read in some review that not all boxes will transfer a widescreen signal from cable to the TV automatically)
    2) It's got to transmit OK through a standard SCART lead (again, some reviews I've read imply that some boxes can't do this, which I found surprising).
    3) It's got to be a dual-tuner (or whatever it's called) so I can watch something on my telewest cable and record something on another cable channel at the same time.
    4) It'd be handy if it'd take input from a DV cam. I don't own a DV cam at the moment but if I were to buy one, editing and recording using my DVD/HDD unit would be handy.
    5) I'd really like a timeslip feature too.
    6) It's got to have a really good inbuilt amp so that if I wish in the future to use it as a standalone CD player hooked up to some good home cinema speakers it'll do the business.

On that basis (and the basis of price!) I've whittled the choices down to one of the following models:
    JVC DR MS20 (or MH30)
    Panasonic DMR E85H (or E95H)
    Pinoeer DVR 420H (or 520H)
    Toshiba RD-XS32
    Any advice as to which is likely to be the best buy - or are there any other suggestions in this limited marketplace?