Advice needed for Pioneer or Sharp purchase

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mark99, Sep 12, 2005.

1. mark99

mark99

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All

I'm new to this DVD/HDD business and am looking to buy either a Pioneer DVR530/433 (I know 433 is available in Black, not sure about 530) or a Sharp DVHR350. The main reason for these models is that we need the machine to be in black which I know is an odd reason but I don't intend to go down the silver route.

I will be hooking up to standard Sky and wonder if the EPG functions will work OK with this. I do not have an ariel on the house so any info for programming must work through Sky (will guide+ work with just a Sky box?)

I have read some posts regarding the Pioneer model but have not found much about the Sharp.

Any advice appreciated or any suggestions regarding other Black machines.

Thanks

Mark

2. Phantom Phixer

Phantom Phixer
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    The Pioneer model supplied everywhere is the DVR530H-S which is silver I think there is a DVR530H-B which is black but I have not seen it advertised anywhere.

The EPG will work fine with Sky but if you do not have an aerial you will have to obtain the EPG data from Eurosport. I have read that this is less reliable than analogue ITV.

3. Daftboy

Daftboy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sharp 350 does not have EPG, it's the 400 or 480 models that have that function.
    None of the unit that Sharp make are in black (Unless it's a DSG exclusive).

4. pepchick

pepchick
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone have any experience with the Sharp 480?

5. pjskel

pjskel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +124
    I had a 400 from Sharp - was totally unimpressed with it.