• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Advice needed for buying a new amplifier

vonshabon

Standard Member
Hi everyone,

I am new to the forum and would like to say hello. Not only am I new to the forum I am also an absolute novice when it comes to audio tech so was wondering if anyone can give advise.

I have Wharfedale diamond 9.1 speakers that I run from an old Technics SU-VZ220. I mainly use a turntable and have my pc hooked up to it. Im now considering the journey of getting some half decent equipment to add to my speakers (which are plenty all I need for the size of the room they are in). I have been looking at a Marantz 6003 amp that gets great reviews. Compared to the amp I have would I really notice that much of a difference in sound quality to warrant getting one. I am on a very low budget.

Thanks for any help

Last edited by a moderator:

vonshabon

Standard Member
drivinscool said:

To be honest only about £200. I have seen the marantz for just under that amount and appears to be a good deal. My question is more about whether I would notice much difference in the quality of sound compared to what I already have.?

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
There are several fine amps for around £200. I listed several in Post #4 in this thread -

http://www.avforums.com/forums/hi-fi-systems-separates/1662499-new-lp-players-what-do-i-need.html

The newer Marantz PM6004 is out now, so the PM6003 is on pretty deep discount; less than £200. This amp would normally cost about £300.

The Marantz is a pretty solid 45w/ch, bu that is enough for most circumstances. I used a 45w/ch amps for many years with some pretty big speakers, and was very satisfied.

The Technics SU-VZ220 is rated at 30w/ch to 8 ohms, which is a nice basic amp.