advice needed for a newbie...

raian

Standard Member
hi,

im trying to understand the key factors of setting up a good stereo system... i have been looking through few amps (stereo) and bunch of floorstanding speakers. well as i've mentioned i am new to this... i was thinking of buying a stereo amp and a pair of floorstanding speaker from ebay as this will be my first hi fi set. im currently using Logitech Z 5500 and its completly brilliant. but now its time for an upgrade to the main raw powerfull sound coming out of a proper system.my requirments....... clear, deep, heavy, sharp and crisp..... any ideas?

beside this can any one help me understand what is WATT and IMPEDANCE? i mean for an amp and a pair of speaker what is the perfect watt for proper sound(proper as in something that can be compared with an audiophile system).....

thank you.....

Last edited:

davepuma

Distinguished Member
Hopefully one of the mods will move this to the hifi separates forum as this is the AV Receivers forum.

Please also post a budget so that the guys there can advise you further. IMHO, the budget Marantz and NAD amps would be a good start if you're buying new but if you don't mind second hand (you shouldn't as the gear is usually well looked after) there are plenty of good stereo amps around for next to no £.

If you're after budget floorstanders, the Tannoy Mercury and F4 should be on your list.

raian

Standard Member
well my budget is around 200 pounds...as i have decided to buy second hand separates i think 200 pounds should be enough for a start...what do u say?? do i need to increase my budget....??