Question [Advice] KEF Q300 (or change?) + ??

Thombose

Novice Member
Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the scene and I'm reading up a bit on the different possibilities. However, I'm also not a patient man and maybe made a rush decision.

A few weeks ago I was in some audio store in Belgium to get some advice. I wanted a good price/quality system for audio. Seen the size of my apartment and my budget, we listened to the KEF Q300 and B&W 685 S2 on a fairly expensive Yamaha AV amp. I liked the sound and he made me an offer with the KEFs at 650€ for a pair and the Yamaha amp at 1200 EUR (A-860? not sure).

It's way over the budget I wanted to spend on this, so I dropped it. However, while on holidays, there was an offer to buy the KEFs at 400 €. So I bought them in an impulse (today is my last day to return them if I want).

I currently have a Logitech Z5500 connected to my TV for surround.

What I'm looking for is a nice sounding setup, that allows me to listen to music easily (NAS, wifi, telephone,...) but also allows me to connect a turntable in the end,... I'm not a purist, but I can enjoy a nice piece of music, as wel as a good movie.

My questions are (hoping you are ok to answer them):
- Was it good to buy the KEF's? Will I not regret it later and turn to better sounding tower speakers when I move to a bigger house? Like the Tannoy X6TF(yes, it's also because tower speakers look cooler ;))
- Should I go for an AV amp or for a stereo amp?
-- Stereo amp my preference was: Onkyo-TX8130 because of it's build-in DAC (optical TV input) and network functionality (Wifi streaming etc.).
-- However, I assume the Marantz PM-6005 & NAD 3020d will sound better but have no networking capabilities (I'll have to buy a separate streamer or DAC)
-- AV amp: my preference was Denon x2300W, but I've seen a lot of others too
-- Will stereo sound well on these amps too, or is it better to have separate stereo amp?