1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice for my just ordered PANASONIC TH-42PW6 please

Discussion in 'Panasonic TVs Forum' started by cjb1971, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. cjb1971

    cjb1971
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Wel after doing quite a bit of research reading different reviews etc etc i have just taken the plunge and ordered one of these displays.
    I will need to connect my sky digi box, Pioneer DCS-424 home cinema and the kids ps2 to it.
    I have seen the RGB to Plasma VGA Converter @£120.00 +Standard VGA lead for RGB to Plasma VGA.@£22.00
    And the Panasonic TY-42TM4ZB RCA plasma video board which i can get hold of pretty cheap.
    will either of these do or will i need both of them?
    Collecting the screen thursday(paid£999.00) so any help would be apreciated-as a newcomer i hope this is the best place to ask-cheers.
    Also im just redecorating so the option with the least wires so i can hide then in the wall would be best!
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    i'm not sure the rca board is any use to you....if that is the component board....as you don't have component out on your pioneer do you? The js rgb to vga is a good piece of kit and one option is to get that and a scart splitter like the quintro which your sky box, pioneer and ps2 could plug into and which in turn would plug into the js and so only one cable to screen. But does your pioneer also have the sound inputs for the ps2 and sky?
     
  3. cjb1971

    cjb1971
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah its got 2 audio inputs-thanks for the info
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    I dont think this board (4 series unit) will fit in a 6 series in fact i am certain it wont.(thats why they are cheap
     
  5. fatherted

    fatherted
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Different edge connector - so you are correct. I know this because I have a spare 4 series board.
     
  6. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +15
    Does SCART-VGA by JS give the same, worse or better DVD PQ ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...