1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice for my 1st Hi-Fi Separates System

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by jonesmark, Jul 31, 2005.

1. jonesmark

jonesmark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to the world of Hi-Fi Separates and am trying to put together my 1st system. I want to get an amp, CD-player and speakers. My budget is around the £500/ £600 mark.

I popped into Richer Sounds today and was given the following advice:
    - CD player: Cambridge Audio Azur 540C, £200 (5 stars in What Hi-Fi)
    - Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 540A, £200 (5 stars in What Hi-Fi)
    - Speakers: bookshelf Mordaunt Short Avant 902 £120 (3 stars in What Hi-Fi)

I'm happy with the CD and Amp but not the speakers because of the What Hi-Fi rating (I've also checked reviews on the internet). What Hi-Fi rave on about the Wharfdale Diamond 9.1 booshelf speakers and they're £180. Richer Sounds don't do these however.

So I'm thinking of going for the Cambridge CD and Amp and the Wharfdale speakers. Any thoughts or advice ?

Note that the system will go in a fairly small room (either 2nd bedroom or living room) and I generally listen to noisy music (rock, metal etc).

Thanks for any help/ advice you can give.

2. Londondecca

Londondecca

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +96
  3. jon_mendel

jon_mendel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    As suggested in the link londondecca's posted, you could also get quite a lot more for your money if you're happy to buy secondhand - amplifiers and speakers especially are generally a relatively safe secondhand buy (obviously assuming you check they're working before you pay). If you want the comfort of a guarantee, shops often do a 3 month or so guarantee on secondhand stuff (richer sounds do this)