Advice for moving house with Sky

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Shonte, Sep 17, 2007.

  1. Shonte

    Shonte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Guys,

    This probably gets answered quite a bit but a quick search didnt reveal anything.

    I have a Sky HD box at my parents house and am about to move into a new house that already has sky installed.

    I want to take my HD box with me and have it connected as a new customer.

    What is the best way to do this and will Sky try to fleece me?
     
  2. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,635
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,304
    Depends on the equipment at your newplace , if it already has the double feed from the LNB on the dish, then plug it in and away you go . You can still use it if it only has 1 feed , you just won't be able to watch one and record another
    Still need to call sky and give them your new address .
    John
     
  3. Shonte

    Shonte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Cheers.

    The house is only a couple of years old so fingers crossed it will be the quad LNB Dish.

    I was just wondering if Sky would be difficult about the fact I am not a customer at the moment yet I want to use my own box and sign up as a new HD customer.
     
  4. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +216
    Thats fine, when you get moved in and Sky send you a card you will just have to phone them up and they will match the card to the box whilst you are on the phone and bingo!

    Just thought, why dont you take advantage of the referrer offer Sky advertise if the account will be in a differnet name, i take it the current account is in your parents name?
     
  5. Shonte

    Shonte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Could do, will they do that though with me having my own box?

    Whats the offer Avinitski?
     
  6. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +216
    Think you get £50 M&S vouchers each.
     

Share This Page

Loading...