Advice for disappointed new owner of a Denon RCD-N10

MrSpanman

Novice Member
Ok I will admit it, I just joined the forum to ask some questions, and will probably never darken its door again. To be honest I have very little Hifi related experience, although I am technical-ish.
I am going to waffle on a fair bit below, but to cut to the chase I will then ask for anyone else’s experience of the Denon RCD-N10, because TBH I am unsure if the setup and interface is just flaky or I have bought a lemon.

I bought my last Hifi system nearly 30 years ago. A Denon D100 mini system. Over the years I have had a couple of sets of speaker with a pair of Mission 760i’s for the majority of that time. Ffwd 25 years and the CD player block stopped working, I know outrageous, unreliable rubbish!
Got a used replacement, but 5 years on and that too has gone down and not long before that, one of the Mission woofers went intermittent, break in the coil I think as I removed the woofer and the fault is internal to the speaker.

Someone bought me a pair of Q acoustics 3030i’s for Christmas (completely unbidden, she must want something) and with nothing much to drive them I started looking for a suitable mini-system. I wanted it future proof and fancied something with Heos too. I tossed up between the Marantz X 612 and the Denon N10. Denon won on price and my previous experience of how bullet-proof the D100 was.

Got the N10 today, spent @2 hours trying to get it set-up. Initially tried to get it to connect to wired LAN. Connected via the LAN cable that I normally use to connect to my telly and quite happily streams HD Netflix etc, but the N10 said “no connection” whenever I tried to connect.