Advice for a novice...

doedeer

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi
I am new to this so please bear with me...

I have just moved in to a new house and it seems the previous owners had a home cinema setup. The TV was was wall mounted and there are wires for speakers hanging out of the wall either side of the tv and below. Additionally there are wires in the 2 corners of the room for speakers. They all lead (behind the wall) to a corner of the room where the other ends are found. i am reliably informed this means they had a 5.1 surround system setup.

Its not something that I have ever considered but though I would investigate as it seems the hard work has been done for me. Can anyone advise what I need here? Someone has mentioned an AV receiver and sub woofer but I am unsure if this is neccasery. I would prefer to keep it as cheap as possible as anything would be an improvement to what I am used too!!!!

I think it is also worth mentioning that the speakers appear to have been fixed to the wall with a single screw for 4out of 5 speakers and the remaining one (under the tele) with 2. Keyhole mounting required i think.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!!! Thanks in advance

Welcome to the forum :) Do you have a budget in mind? What do you have to connect up i.e. do you have sky, bluray, games consoles? Makes and model numbers will help. Will you be using the system for music? If you don't have a bluray player, perhaps an all-in-one home-cinema system is the way to go.

It sounds like they had a basic all-in-one home cinema system w/ compact speakers. Most, if not all of these have the keyhole slots on the back. Does the speaker cable look thin? Are there any markings on it? If the cable is thicker, they may well have had separates.