Advice for a newbie please

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rami, Nov 9, 2004.

1. rami

rami
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

Im new to all this and not exactly a technical wizard!!!! but im looking to buy a dvd recorder, i will also be getting sky +, am i correct in thinking that theres no need to pay the extra for a recorder with built in hard drive as ive got sky plus to do that. Any advice on which machine to go for would be much appreciated but major use would probably be to transfer old video footage from vhs and would also like to be able to put chapters and menus in (can this be done on recorder or does it have to be done via a package on pc?) As you can see from the questions im a newbie just loking for a bit of advice. Many thanks in advance.

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,267
    No. Most of us here have Sky+ and a HDD/DVDR combo as the two machines perform very different functions.

Sky+ is a timeshifter. It's ideal for watch and wipe as it has the easy to use menu system and offers lossless recording. However it has no editting or archiving ability.

HDD/DVDRs on the other hand are edit decks. They allow you to record onto the HDD, edit/rearrange as required and then burn to universally compatible DVD-R. If you use a non-HDD DVD recorder to do this you could either edit or make compatible disks - you could not do both. Also a HDD allows you to record in the highest possible bitrate before you edit so you do not waste any space on the DVD-R itself.

As for the machine to go for: well it depends upon your requirements but the Toshiba RDXS32 and Panasonic range (E85/E95/E500) are very popular here for good reason.

3. rami

rami
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2