Advice for a first timer...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by pt07ahr, Jun 2, 2008.

  1. pt07ahr

    pt07ahr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, im looking into buying myself a 5.1 home cinema system for my bedroom (its a big room :p) I currently have a 26inch finlux lcd tv, which has 2 hdmi ports, and componant and a couple of others im not really that sure about but dont really seem that important.

    I mainly want it for watching films and playing my 360, however im confused about how to connect the 360 up to is as well as a sky box. as the 360 i have does not have the hdmi port, can i use the component cable or do i need something else, for 5.1 surround.

    The tv also has a built in freeview box, will the sound be put in 5.1 on freeview or sky? and finally can anyone recommend me a system for around the £200 mark? sorry for the questions but ive been reading this site for a while and still dont really get it

    Thanks in advance, Alex
     
  2. lfcmonkey

    lfcmonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +105
    You can connect both you 360 and your sky via optical inputs into your 5.1 system. I have the Sony HT-SS1100 which can be picked up for around £200. It's a great system at a good price and has two optical inputs. :thumbsup:
     
  3. pt07ahr

    pt07ahr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i noticed that you have sky hd in your sig, does the standard sky boxset have an optical out?
     
  4. pt07ahr

    pt07ahr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh and thank you :D
     
  5. lfcmonkey

    lfcmonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Doncaster
    Ratings:
    +105
    I'm pretty sure it does but not 100% What box have you got and whats the model number and i'll try n find out for you.

    Does your tv have optical out???
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice