1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Advice for a complete novice!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by jimbo2112, Nov 5, 2001.

1. jimbo2112

jimbo2112
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi All,

I am going snowboarding at new year and I want to know if it is possible to adapt some technology to help me film my descents. You must have all seen those tiny cameras that people are using for security? Well I would like to have a digital (preferably jvc) camcorder in a padded pcket and tiny camera attached to it. The camera could be taped to my helmet. If the cost would be OTT on top of the digi camcorder then it would be a no go. But I have seen these things really cheap on the internet.

Any help ideas appreciated

Jimbo:p

PS I will be in Meribel, France if you are a barder as well!

2. CarlB

CarlB

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +213
    I've been boarding in the alps for the past six years and just carry my camera at hip level when I'm riding. I had one of the small JVC cameras intially but have just upgraded to a Sony TRV20 this year which is bigger. Maybe I'll have to modify my technique next year as the Sony is probably not so robust.

One thing to watch - the temperature really saps the battery life, so take plenty of spares or be prepared to find your battery only lasting about 20mins on the mountain!

3. jimbo2112

jimbo2112
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers Carl,

My solution (if one exists!) would negate the cold issue (to an degree) and also the robustness problem.

Have you any idea of the theory of how to solve the external camera lense idea? Would it be something like a camera that has a DV input which you could attach the micro camera gizmo to?