1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ADSL modem with firewall

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Dr Diversity, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am upgrading to broadband soon. I want to have a modem with four network outputs, built in firewall and possibly wireless output. Any recommendations on what / where to buy or get further advice would be gratefully accepted.

    Do I need a router facility. I am planning to connect 3-4 computers though normally only one.

    Dr D
     
  2. deanym

    deanym
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,788
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +141
    Netgear do a four port, wireless router with firewall - its around £100, the wireless card is £40ish.

    I've had absolutely no problems with it, good range and wep enabled.

    I did have a problem however extracting the password I needed from BT to allow another modem to be used. The call centre guy actually stated BT don't allow other modems to be used, but kindly gave me the passwords I needed to configure the new modem (if you've got these from the original installation then it shouldn't be a problem).
     
  3. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    Second the Netgear. Top drawer kit!

    That BT guy is full of crap - without the password, you can't use the Broadband login (on any router) and you own the password. He wasn't doing you a favour, he was being a twit. :thumbsdow
     
  4. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    9,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,876
    Another vote for Netgear here. I think they attracted some flak when their 802.11G kit first came out, but BIOS updates since then have resolved things.

    And I agree that the BT guy was being a twit. They don't care what modems people used as long as they have the relevant UK / EU certification to be used on our phone system. Which they all do....
     
  5. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,179
    Question is...why the hell do all new broadband routers seem to be wireless?

    Whats wrong with good old Cat5 cable?
     
  7. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    The Belkin one that Ched links to for me, very reliable although curiously the default settings cause it to disconnect from the internet after 5 minutes of inactivity, easily fixed though.

    If you can, get PCI wireless cards rather than USB ones as they're far less resource hungry and definitely neater. :)
     
  8. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    So that users will also buy the wireless card for the p.c./laptop which cost £16-£60. CAT5 leads are about a quid each. ;)
     
  9. chedmaster

    chedmaster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +28
    john, HOW DO YOU FIX THAT! ITS SO ANNOYING! i didnt even look for an option!
     
  10. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,345
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    I'd recommend the Netgear DG834GT. It's wireless but has a 4 ethernet ports. It's a piece of **** to set up and the firewall also supports a VPN so you can access your home network anywhere if you so wish to.
     
  11. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Set the Idle Time to zero.
     
  12. Dr Diversity

    Dr Diversity
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scan have some made by Sweex. Seem very cheap, are they a badged product? Anyone tried them?
     

Share This Page

Loading...