1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adobe Premiere or Ulead?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by dockerslund, Sep 11, 2003.

1. dockerslund

dockerslund
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Which package should I use?
    Adobe Premiere or Ulead?
    As far as I understand, Ulead is quite easy to use, is that right?
    I work with Adobe software every day (Photoshop and Illustrator).
    Will it be easier for me to understand Premiere?
    Or should I just go for Ulead?
    P.S. I've never done video editing before, but I don't want to start with Moviemaker 2.

2. vonhosen

vonhosen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    Try the demo of Sonic Foundry's Vegas Video

Has a lot of converted Premiere followers if you check their forums.

3. melliott1963

melliott1963

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Pinnacle Studio 8 is also very easy to use and is capable of excellent results.

However, if you need to overlay lots of video on video then you'll need a more professional editing suite, such as Adobe Premier or Pinnacle Edition. However, they are not as intuitive as Studio / Ulead / Movie Maker 2 etc. and will take a lot of your time to get the best out of them.

What is your aim with video editing? Are you just after something to give your home videos a bit of gloss, or are you looking at making movies for presentations, or even full length films?

If it's just a bit of home video editing, then something like Adobe Premier will be overkill. For presentations, depending on how 'fancy' you want them to look, you can get away with a 'low-end' package, but there is more of a case at looking at a professional program. For full length films, you really do need a professional program.