1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adjusting Pioneer AX5Ai channel levels

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by MJeeves, Nov 30, 2004.

Tags:
  1. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Hi,

    I’ve already done the auto set-up on the new Pioneer AX5Ai and I’m very happy with the sound and settings. However, I want to raise the volume level of the rear right surround channel by 1db to match the left surround channel. How do I do this without changing the other settings and having to go through the auto set-up again?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jon

    Jon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mate,

    Sorry i cant be too specific as im not at home with the amp so cant run through it and tell you exactly, but from memory there is a manual settings section, can remember the name sorry, might be expert or something like that. You have a list of the channels and there levels, you can go through the list and change all the settings as you like. Sorry its vague but thats the best i can do from memory.

    Cheers

    Jon
     
  3. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Thanks Jon. Do you know if doing this interferes with the other settings that were made by the MCACC auto-setup? Thanks again.
     
  4. Jon

    Jon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No Worries mate! No if you change the db level for a channel it doesnt alter anything else, you can alter everything seperately if you want to, i didnt bother as the auto setup was fine, although like you i did change one of the rears to be the same as the other one and changed the distance on a couple as well.

    Cheers

    Jon
     
  5. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Thanks Jon! I'll have a tinker tonight.

    Thanks again. :thumbsup:
     
  6. Jon

    Jon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No Probs, good luck mate!!
     
  7. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Hi Jon,

    Once you've done the MCACC Auto Set-up do you then have to go through the Advanced Set-Up and Auto Pro (Professional Set-Up) as well to get better results or not? Did you?

    Thanks!
     
  8. Jon

    Jon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HI Mate,

    I have tinkered with it in the past, but couldnt really notice any improvment so i just leave it to the MCACC now.

    Cheers

    Jon
     
  9. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Does anyone have any tweaks on how to get "clearer" and more open dialogue? Any adjustments I could make on my Pioneer AX5Ai?

    Thanks.
     
  10. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Anyone?
     
  11. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    M.J - Have you checked the levels with an SPL Meter i know the Pioneer has Auto setup but the level's might not be 100% correct on the Center channel it might improve it slightly if you can check it with one and adjust levels accordingly.

    John
     
  12. MJeeves

    MJeeves
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,003
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Crayford
    Ratings:
    +218
    Hi. Yes, I've done all that and if anything I have the centre channel slightly higher than the others (only slightly), be still to no avail.
    I'm gonna get a better stand for my centre speaker to "raise it up" a bit and see if that helps.
    Thanks for your suggestion.
     

Share This Page

Loading...