1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Adivce for a Newbie

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jediwenger, Nov 19, 2003.

1. jediwenger

jediwenger

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was hoping that some of you may be able to help me a little. I am new to this home cinema thingy but have decided to jump on the bandwagon.
    I currently have a bog standard flat 28 widescreen JVC TV, Picture quality is excellent although the sound leaves a little to be desired. I have the Sony DVP-NS700V DVD player that I am currently happy with and a 15 year old separates stereo system that still manages to sound very good.
    Anyway I have just had a promotion at work and given up smoking which means I have an increased disposable income and have decided to do away with the separates system and get an AV Receiver. My current choice is the Denon AVR2803 and I think the mission FS1AV speaker package. My question is would this make a good combination and am I likely to be happy with this set up? I am assuming that a little down the road my parents may be inheriting a Sony DVD player, when this gets upgraded.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

2. chrisgeary

chrisgeary

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +173
    What does your 15 year old separates system comprise of? Before ditching it, it might be worth telling us what you have.

Well done on giving up smoking! It's a damn hard thing to do!