1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

adding a second set of speakers - newbie question!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by paulbull01, Sep 3, 2005.

1. paulbull01

paulbull01

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

Sorry - I'm a total newbie! I have a Panasonic SA-PM17 combined hifi CD stereo system (i.e. 1 unit and not separates). Can I add a second set of speakers for the dining room to this and use a switch to switch between rooms without the need for an amplifier?

Second thing is the panasonic speakers have 2 pairs of wires going into the back of it - marked on the Stereo as "High Frequency" Presumably to the tweeter (6 Ohm 25 watt) and "LOW Frequency" presumably to the twoofer (6 Ohm 25 Watt) - presumably as the internal am is a bi-amp. Is there a bi-amp switch box on the market that will cope with the separate high and low channel output of my stereo?

Is it possible to connect these to my other 6 ohm speakers that have only 1 pair of wires using a switch box as I can't find a switch box for speakers with 2 pairs of wire?

Any help or advice would be gratefully received

Thanks

Paul

2. skinnyfat

skinnyfat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems to me what you're describing is 'bi-wire' terminals.

1. Low freq. = Woofer
    2. High freq. = Tweeter
    3. You dont need to bi-wire your speakers.

There should be (or have been) bridging plates connecting the two positive terminals and the two neg. terminals to each other (+ to +) and (- to -). If they are still there, leave them there, if they are gone you can use a short piece of speaker wire to make the bridge. Once that is done you can go about wiring up via your switch box only needing two wires to each room.

Skinny

3. paulbull01

paulbull01

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Skinny,